The Hug and Run Case

. . . When I picked up the newspaper today, the first thing that struck my attention was Salman Khan hugging Shah Rukh Khan at an Iftar party. Yes, on front page.

. . . While waiting my wife to deliver a cup of tea, I asked her, “What’s the point of taking this story on page one? I mean it’s just a hug.” My wife laughed like experts do on some silly question of rustic, then turn around with two mugs and said, “Of course its page one material. Wasn’t this the first story you read when you picked up the newspaper?” Oh damn, it was, I realized.

. . . I realised I was no different than the rest of the Bollywood crazy nation. This is despite being a Serious Blogger who should be looking for “serious stuff” to read on the front page. I logged on to twitter and the topic was the top trending one. I clicked on

#Salman hugged SRK and this is what followed…

Karan Arjun reunite
#Salman hugged SRK

Rupee set to recover as
#Salman hugged SRK

Hug of the century.
#Salman hugged SRK

We have solved the last international crisis and now there will be peace all around.
#Salman hugged SRK

UPA Govt will add this under achievement for next election campaign.
#Salman hugged SRK

Salman hugged SRK and moved away quickly from there. It was a case of hug and run.
#Salman hugged SRK

Now our economy will grow by 10%. Chinese soldiers will return.
#Salman hugged SRK

All terrorists will surrender and petrol prices will fall 50% Baba Siddiqui nominated for Nobel peace prize for brokering peace between Salman Khan and SRK.
#Salman hugged SRK

. . . . Needless to say, I died laughing. But then I wondered if newspapers hadn’t published this news item at all, would it have made a difference? I guess not.

People do blame the media for adding hype to useless stuff and making it sound big. Was this the case this time? A couple of associates in office joked about who would have made the first move. I guess we’ll never know. Or we might, some day on page one.

…shabab khan
khansworld@gmail.com

About Shabab Khan

A Journalist, Philanthropist; Author of 'The Magician', 'Go!', 'Brutal'. Being a passionate writer, I am into Journalism and writing columns, news stories, articles for top media house. Twitter: @khantastix khansworld@rediffmail.com
Aside | This entry was posted in Advert and Promotional programs, Bollywood, Glamour, Social, Social Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.